OSA Advisory Committee

Charge to the Advisory Committee of

Office of the State Archaeologist
The University of Iowa

(Approved October 4, 2006)

Purpose of the Committee

In recognition of the public’s interest in Iowa’s archaeological heritage, the State Archaeologist and the Vice President for Research consult regularly with an Advisory Committee. Committee members represent many broad constituencies to whom the Office of the State Archaeologist (OSA) is responsive.

The Committee’s primary purpose is to provide a structure through which the State Archaeologist, the Vice President for Research, and constituency representatives may jointly discuss the creation, implementation, and execution of policies and activities that broadly affect archaeological research, education, and stewardship in Iowa. Final authority regarding the acceptance and implementation of Advisory Committee suggestions lies with the Vice President for Research, in consultation with the State Archaeologist.

Composition of the Committee

The Committee consists of 14 members who serve at the request of the Vice President for Research. Four members are ex officio: the State Archaeologist, the Vice President for Research (or designee), the Chair of the Department of Anthropology (or designee), and the President of the Iowa Archeological Society (or designee). The Vice President for Research is the official chair of the Committee, and may delegate all or part of this duty to the State Archaeologist or another Committee member.

The seats for the ex officio members from the Department of Anthropology and the Iowa Archeological Society will be filled as follows:

  • The University of Iowa Department of Anthropology seat will be filled by the Department Chair or the Chair’s designee. The Department of Anthropology representative must be a tenured or tenure-line department faculty member and an archaeologist.
  • The Iowa Archeological Society seat will be filled by the Society President or, if necessary, by another full voting member of the Society’s Executive Board as designated by the President. The term of this seat will reflect the election cycle of the Society’s Executive Board. Staff members of the OSA are excluded from serving.

The remaining 10 Committee members are to be representatives from the wide variety of other constituencies concerned with OSA’s mission. Members are appointed by the Vice President for Research and must be selected according to the following criteria. Two are to be academic archaeologists from universities and colleges in Iowa or from nearby states in the Midwest and Plains, three are to be American Indians, two are to be directors (or their designees) from federal or state agencies pertinent to the operations of the OSA (e.g., National Park Service, State Historical Society of Iowa, Geological Survey Bureau of the Iowa Department of Natural Resources, or Iowa Department of Education), and three members are to be from the following additional constituent groups:

  • Faculty and staff at institutions of higher education;
  • Governmental agencies;
  • Professional archaeologists;
  • Museums, libraries, and archives;
  • Primary and high school teachers; and
  • Preservationists and other patrons of archaeological preservation and research.

Terms of Appointment

Except for ex officio members, Committee members’ terms of appointment are for three years. The Vice President for Research may reappoint members for additional three-year terms in order to further ensure the institutional memory of the group.

Meetings and Correspondence

The Committee normally meets twice yearly at the OSA’s main facility in Iowa City. Additional meetings may be convened. Meetings are opportunities for the exchange, discussion, and review of policy information, intergroup coordination, and consensus-building. The agenda for any given meeting will be developed by the Vice President for Research in consultation with the State Archaeologist and any designated Committee chair. Correspondence on Committee business typically occurs via email, with paper copies made available to those members who do not have email access.

Expectations for Committee Members

Committee members are expected to attend the two meetings normally held each year, to represent the views  of their constituency at those meetings, and to report the results of those meetings to their groups as appropriate.

Some types of archaeological data shared with Committee members may be of a sensitive or confidential nature as defined by the Code of Ethics of the Society for American Archaeology and local, state, and federal statutes (e.g., Iowa Code Section 263B.10: Confidentiality of archaeological locations and information). Committee members are expected to treat site locational information as confidential.


The Vice President for Research is responsible for appointments to the Committee and for making alterations to this charge. The charge shall be reviewed by the Vice President for Research in consultation with the State Archaeologist at least every five years.


Current Membership List
Office of the State Archaeologist Advisory Committee
Fall 2015


Gail Barels​
Wikiup Hills Outdoor Learning Center
10260 Morris Hills Road
Toddville, IA 52341

Colin M. Betts
Associate Professor
Department of Anthropology
Luther College
700 College Drive
Decorah, IA 52101

Johnathan Buffalo
Director, Historical Preservation Department
Sac and Fox Tribe of the Mississippi in Iowa
349 Meskwaki Road
Tama, IA 52339-9629

John F. Doershuk
Director and State Archaeologist
Office of the State Archaeologist
The University of Iowa
700 Clinton Street Building
Iowa City, IA 52242-1030

Lance Foster
Iowa Tribe of KS & NE
3345 B Thrasher Rd
White Cloud, KS 66094

David M. Gradwohl
Professor Emeritus
Department of Anthropology
Iowa State University
2212 Hamilton Drive
Ames, IA 50014

Steve King
Deputy State Historic Preservation Officer
600 East Locust
Des Moines, IA  50319-2090
(515) 281-4013

Jim Nepstad
Superintendent, Effigy Mounds National Monument
151 Highway 76
Harpers Ferry, IA 52146
563-873-3491 ext. 101

Ann Ricketts
Assistant Vice President for Research
The University of Iowa
201 Gilmore Hall
Iowa City, IA 52242

Leah D. Rogers
Archaeologist/Architectural Historian
Tallgrass Historians, L.C.
2460 South Riverside Drive
Iowa City, IA 52246

Holmes A. Semken, Jr.
Professor Emeritus
Department of Geoscience
The University of Iowa
120C Trowbridge Hall
Iowa City, IA 52242
319-335-1830 Anthro

Glenn R. Storey
Associate Professor
Department of Classics
The University of Iowa
210 Jefferson Building
Iowa City, IA 52242

Eleisha Barnett
President Iowa Archeological Society
Wapsi Valley Archaeology, Inc.
126 E. Main Street
Anamosa, Iowa 52205

Suzanne D. Wanatee
Indian Advisory Council Liaison
Sac and Fox Tribe of the Mississippi in Iowa
349 Meskwaki Road
Tama, IA 52339-9629